Following on the Annotations work, I’ve now got it automatically handling artist / album merges and deletes, which was one of my main concerns before. I think this makes it just about ready to test. It’s a very simple feature, which is possibly one reason why I think it will work – I’m not sure it needs to be any more complex – not for the first release anyway.
Update: see the Wiki for documentation.
Here we go, documentation on the fly again – somebody will probably paste this into a Wiki page in the future. 🙂
If you delete, then any attached annotations are lost; that’s nice and simple.
If you merge, then both sets of annotations get merged together (and their histories become interleaved). If both artists / albums had annotations before the merge, then a new annotation is created which is simply a concatenation of the latest annotation of each one.