Downtime: We need to tidy house and vacuum our database

Today at 4pm PDT (7pm EDT, Midnight UK, 1am Central European Time) I will take MusicBrainz down for 1 hour for some aggressive vacuuming and tidying in an effort to get our grumpy database server to behave a little better.

Sorry for the trouble!

One thought on “Downtime: We need to tidy house and vacuum our database

  1. intgr

    FYI, if you’re planning to run VACUUM FULL then my experience is that CLUSTER is often a better idea. CLUSTER does nearly all in sequential writes, while VACUUM FULL seems to make lots of seeks. This is especially true if the table itself can fit in the cache. (Otherwise the whole table will be read sequentially for each index)

    And having the table sorted by an appropriate key results in better cache locality later on.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s